About Us

Gazi University Hospital International Health Office

Contact Info

Emniyet, Mevlana Blv. No:29, 06560 Yenimahalle/Ankara, Turkey



about departments

Pediatric Surgery.

The specialty of Pediatric Surgery emerged in a not so old period just before theWorld War II, when some surgeons dedicated themselves to dealing with congenital andacquired surgical diseases of infants and children. Over time the number of pediatricsurgeons has reached thousands in the world and hundreds in our country. The rapiddevelopment of pediatric surgery in the last 50-60 years depends on the improvement in thequality of surgeries, the knowledge and the development in related specialties (Pediatric Health and Diseases, Neonatology, Anesthesiology, etc.), as well as technology and varioustools.

​This Department provides outpatient treatment services on 12th floor, C Block andinpatient services with the capacity of 21 beds are on 12th floor, D Block. There are 6 FacultyMembers, 4 Research Assistants, 10 Nurses and 7 Assisting Staff. Our Department alsomonitors patients in Neonatal, İnfant and Pediatric İntensive Care Units.

Pediatric surgeons from two of the pioneering clinics of pediatric surgery in ourcountry (Hacettepe University and Ege University) dispersed to various parts of the country, and the next generation of pediatric surgeons they trained took part in the establishment of other centers. Gazi University Faculty of Medicine, Department of Pediatric Surgery is one of them and was established in 1985.



In our Department surgical diagnosis and treatment of congenital anomalies anddiseases of the head, neck, thorax, gastrointestinal system, soft tissue and genitourinarysystem are performed.

Our services are carried out uninterruptedly in the Department of Pediatric Urology, which was established in 1995 under our Department.

Urodynamics, anorectal and colonic manometry, gastrointestinal and urologicalendoscopy, laparoscopy units are available in our Department.

Our Doctors

Prof. Dr. Kaan Sönmez

Prof. Dr. Ramazan Karabulut

Prof. Dr. Yusuf Hakan Çavuşoğlu

Prof. Dr. Zafer Türkyılmaz

Dr. Faculty Member Cem Kaya