About Us

Gazi University Hospital International Health Office

Contact Info

Emniyet, Mevlana Blv. No:29, 06560 Yenimahalle/Ankara, Turkey



about departments

Nuclear Medicine.

The Department of Nuclear Medicine was established in 1989 by the chairmanship  Prof. Dr. Nahide Gökçoran with the contribution of Prof. Dr. Hekmat Bayhan, the Department of Nuclear Medicine was opened by a staff consisting of research assistant Dr. Neşe İlgin Karabacak and research assistant Dr. Meltem Dalyan Our department has become one of the important centers in our country in terms of Education, research and clinical services with academic staff, physical ability and technical equipment.

Our department has been accredited by UEMS (European Association of Medical Professionals) in the field of nuclear medicine education. Our department has 6 faculty members, 2 research assistants, 1 health physicist, 2 radiopharmacists and 5 nurses. The department's staff aims to provide our patients with the latest and highest quality services in all branch of nuclear medicine.

Our Services

Our department contains one PET/CT camera, three double-headed SPECT gamma cameras, two radionuclide treatment rooms, a thyroid uptake test machine, an intraoperative gamma probe and a peptide synthesis unit. In our department, in addition to all conventional scintigraphy and F-18 FDG PET / CT scans, peptides labeled Ga-68 (DOTATATE, PSMA) and PET, SPECT brain receptor scans and liver radioembolization, peptides labeled Lu-177 (DOTATATE, Radionuclide Therapies F-18 FDG PET/CT scan has been performed on more than 25,000 patients so far in the PET/CT unit, which started to provide service for the first time in our country since April 2004.

Our Doctors

  • Prof. Dr. Lütfiye Özlem Atay
  • Prof. Dr. Mustafa Ünlü
  • Prof. Dr. Neşe Karabacak
  • Assoc. Prof. Dr. Ümit Özgür Akdemir