About Us

Gazi University Hospital International Health Office

Contact Info

Emniyet, Mevlana Blv. No:29, 06560 Yenimahalle/Ankara, Turkey



about departments

Thoracic Surgery.

The department started its activities as the Department of Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery within the Faculty of Medicine of Gazi University.

Later on it was converted into two separate departments on May 17, 2002.

Our Department was established by Dr.Sedat DEMİRCAN and during the same period was led by Dr. İsmail Cüneyt KURUL. The staff was expanded with Dr. Abdullah İrfan TAŞTEPE in 2010, Dr. Olgun Kadir ARIBAŞ and Dr. Ali ÇELİK in 2012.

Our Mission is to train qualified surgeons for the future of our country by making use of the knowledge of medicine, science and technology, to provide health services that prioritize the benefit of the society in protecting health and rehabilitating patients.

Our vision:  As a part of the Faculty of medicine and a specialization training center where modern surgical practices are carried out with an experienced team our vision is to be a leading department in the field of national and international medicine with the knowledge and health service.

Our Department provides service with the capacity of 11 beds, and 2 beds within the intensive care unit.  There are 4 Faculty Members, 1 Lecturer, 4 Research Assistants and 6 Nurses. Our department provides outpatient services to over 4500 patients annually, and surgical treatment to over 600 patients.


  • All kinds of thoracic pathology surgery of adults and children
  • Diagnosis, staging and surgical treatments of lung cancer (malignant, benign)
  • Trachea surgery
  • Surgery of pleural diseases (benign and malignant tumors, empyema, effusions, etc.),
  • Thoracic wall malignancies, mediastinal pathologies, diaphragmatic diseases, esophageal surgery
  • Surgical interventions are performed with modern thoracic surgery techniques in lung cysts, bronchiectasis, parasitic diseases, hyperhidrosis and other pathologies



Our Doctors

  • Prof. Dr. İsmail Cüneyt Kurul
  • Prof. Dr. Abdullah İrfan Taştepe
  • Prof. Dr. Olgun Kadir Aribaş
  • Assoc. Dr. Ali Çelik
  • Assoc. Dr. Muhammed Sayan
  • Dr. Lect. Şevki Mustafa Demiröz